American Association of People with Disabilities (AAPD) announces NBCUniversal Tony Coelho Media Scholarship winners

The American Association of People with Disabilities (AAPD) announced the winners of the NBCUniversal Tony Coelho Media Scholarship. There are four scholarships for the fall of 2013 to 2nd year associate students; undergraduate sophomores, juniors, and seniors; and graduate students with disabilities pursuing communication or media-related degrees. The program was launched to encourage more people with disabilities to pursue media-related degrees and careers.

The winners are Caitlin Bailey of Montana State University- Bozeman, Shelby Hintze of Brigham Young University, May Karin Hitselberger of University of Miami and Miles Williams of Chapman University. Each recipient will receive a monetary award to be used towards tuition and fees at their college or university, thanks to a generous contribution from NBCUniversal.

This scholarship is named in honor of Tony Coelho, a former United States Representative from California and the primary author and sponsor of the Americans with Disabilities Act. “Each winner of the NBCUniversal Tony Coelho Media Scholarship embodies the true spirit and legacy of Tony Coelho, Congressman Coelho is a role model for these emerging leaders with disabilities…” said TaKeisha Walker, AAPD Director of Workplace and Leadership Initiatives.

In addition to Tony Coelho, the Scholarship Committee members included Cathy Smith of Wal-Mart, Jeff Kramer of Verizon, Ethan Loney of NBCUniversal, and Mary Davis of CSC.

Bob Dole Interview


sharing is caring

we did our part - now do yours and share

like a good neighbor, share